Be brave, and PLAY!

Art journaling has been an amazing journey, one I’m still on!  But maybe you’re wondering how to start or what its all about.

Thinking hard, my journey actually began waaaay back in highschool when I would be in the art room looking at others art thinking…wow, I can never do that.  Why did I feel this way?  Why was I too afraid to even try?  I’m not sure, but its taken me until recently to realize that YES I can!  I can do art, and I CAN be brave and try! And so can YOU!

Fast forward to adulthood and this amazing thing called the internet and YouTube and BAM!  There are actually tons of resources out there that can help! I found that videos from Carolyn Dube (www.acolorfuljourney.com) and Tamara Laporte (www.williowing.org) and Jane Davenport (www.janedavenport.com) who are some of my favorites 🙂 and PS…some of them are even free too!

So I watched lots and lots of videos, ignored my internal fear monster, bought a mixed media journal (Canson brand) used some paints, tissue papers, glittery beads, and created this!

IMG_20160113_162752563

It kind of looks like everything is just plopped out there ha-ha, but it was my brave first step at art journaling.  I used what I had and I played, and guess what?  It was FUN!

It’s been a little over a year, and I am still loving it!  Now my pages look more like this:

For me, its a wonderful release, where I can be a kid again!  Where I am free to create anything!  I hope you start or continue on your journey too!  Start small, takes steps, be brave, and PLAY!

Leave a Reply

